Up Owners Club banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am trying to build up a spare bulb kit for my UP without to pay VW prices as I work as a partsman for a rival Japanese brand (don't laugh both of our cars are VW)
Headlamp is sorted and is an H4, now not to sure what the rest are, I can guess but this is not ideal!
Has anyone got a list of the contains of a UP VW bulb kit, nothing really in the owners manual to let you know what the other bulbs are!

·
Registered
187 Posts
Can't promise this is all of them but for the MY2017 cars the list includes:

front dipped/main beam lights: H4 60/55W
turn signal bulbs: PY 21W (DRLs, side lights and indicators in the exterior mirrors are non-replaceable LEDs)
front fog lights: HB4 51W (rears are non-replaceable LEDs)
rear reversing lights: RY16W
rear brake lights: P21/4W
rear tail lights: RY5W
rear turn signals: RY16W
rear high-level brake light (with the rear washer jet): non-replaceable LED
number plate lights: non-replaceable LED

Anything listed as 'non-replaceable' means the LED bulb is an integrated component, so the whole unit needs to be replaced if the LED bulb dies.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Plancast, this great thanks very much, not very good news about the led as they usually don't last as long as they should do and they are expensive.

·
Registered
187 Posts
It makes sense from a manufacturing perspective, but for the customer it means a simple blown bulb turns into a much bigger (and more expensive) adventure, unfortunately...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yep I know, all the fancy stuff cost more and more to the customer when this pack up. I work for a rival car manufacturer and I see modern side flasher been replaced for close to hundred pounds because the led is gone when with earlier models this would just cost a couple of pounds for a bulb. This is progress! :-(

·
Registered
187 Posts