Up Owners Club banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am not very technically minded so I’m seeking assistance. I have a 66 plate VW up, just had the clutch and flywheel changed Cambell changed and a service, and radiator replaced. I am now finding it difficult to select second gear when coming down the gears. I don’t seem to have the same issue going up the gears from neutral, first, second etc. 3rd, 4th & 5th seem fine.
My question is is this likely to be connected to the work that has just been done? It worked fine for the first 3 weeks following the work, but something doesn’t feel quite right.
I am reluctant just to take it back to the VW dealer in case I end up with a massive bill just for investigating it like I did for the work I’ve just had done.
No noise or grinding when changing gears, so assuming oil level is ok. Nothing dripping either.
Any advice or assistance would be appreciated

·
Registered
257 Posts
When you say "select" do you mean the gears are baulky (difficult to engage) or the gearstick is sloppy and difficult to slot into gear, it sounds like its related to the work done, could be air in the system or a slave cylinder leaking internally, has the clutch fluid reservoir level dropped at all? - does the pedal feel normal? - I'm not sure about the Up but the cable bushes on my Alfa were worn and it lead to a pretty unpleasant and vague change, its always easier to change up than down if the clutch system is not functioning correctly

·
Registered
1,485 Posts
Would suggest taking it back to the garage that did the work, (which should be guaranteed for 12 months), and ask them to look at the gear change cable adjustment.
How many miles has it done ?
Very unusual to need a clutch, flywheel, cambelt & radiator for a 66 plate.......

·
Registered
2,864 Posts