Up Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to buy a second remote key for my Move Up! 5 door ASG - dealers tell me that it is not possible for a second remote to work ???
Any comments please.

·
Registered
20 Posts
It might possible that's the case some cars can only have a certain number of keys programmed to the car for both the central locking and the immobiliser , but as a car mechanic I have never heard of this being the the case for vw

·
Registered
532 Posts
The cars came with two remotes for a while. (Pre April 2012)

·
Registered
109 Posts
the up! must only have reservation for 2... we eventually got a second remote key as per the brochure so we now have two remote keys and one 'basic' key.a couple of weeks ago we used the 'basic' key and it worked fine for 15 seconds and then the car died, problem was it immobilised the car from all 3 keys... VW assist had to come out and remote linkup to VW and unlock the ECU again... safe to say I've hidden the basic key now!

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hey ashy87, when you got the second remote key programmed did you give the garage the basic key as well or did you just have the two remote keys , because you have to programme all the keys at the same time. If not it might be worth reprogramming all three keys from scratch.

·
Registered
315 Posts
There is/was already a thread about second remote keys on this site. It seems that they were giving out two remotes originally but then cut it to one plus a basic key. Some customers kicked up with their dealers about it because the brochures said the car came with two remotes. So some customers managed to talk their dealers in to getting a second one for free, whilst others paid for a second remote.

I don't believe the bit about a second remote not being able to work. "Somebody's 'avin-a-larf"... But a second one will cost you and they are not cheap.

·
Registered
51 Posts