Up Owners Club banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, done some research and think we’d like to get a used UP! for our sons first car. We have seen a 16/65 plate 3dr Move version, one owner 20k miles. asking. Looks a very clean car, one owner at a local dealer.
Are there any things I should be specifically asking or looking for please when buying VW UP!?
I’m no car expert, my dad was and I wish I still had him around to ask the sort of questions and look for the sort of things I should.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Sorry your dad not around. My dad was a mechanic too but no longer with us. So In my limited experience of the UP I would say get a feel for the gearbox. Does it change smoothly and go into reverse. Mine is fine when cold but it shifts more sweetly when warm. Think the later cars like the one you are considering are better but the gearbox makes quite a bit of noise under load (acceleration). Mine certainly does but as I say it shifts gear very smoothly and I dont really hear it with the stereo on. With engine running push the clutch in and out and listen for a rattling noise. If really noisy it could be thrust bearing but they are a bit of a noisy engine at idle anyway. Otherwise great little car with fine handling and decent to drive. Good luck and hope this helps.

Check this thread regarding the rattle.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks macp, for your nice words and also your advice. I will bear this in mind when looking at car and will try and sound like I know what i'm talking about at least

·
Registered
81 Posts
Your welcome
If I might add something that I have always used as a good yardstick. If it looks right and drives right it probably is right. Anyway its stood me in good stead over the years.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Hi SilBilly,