Up Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just an opinion piece really and one I think will prove popular now the 1st of September has passed and the number of Up's and it's sister cars from Seat and Skoda seems to have leapt up.

I'm not an engineer, and this is my first 3 pot engined car but I've been driving for nearly 25 years and I know when an engine and gearbox is broken or if it's just under strain.

And it's my opinion that the blue trainers shift changer dial and the dashboards gear change indicator should be completely ignored. I'll go further and say that VW should seriously consider an update to the software running it all.

It does say in the owner manual, that a drivers experience should be followed rather than just slavishly following what the trainer says. Well, my experience in the last 5 days is telling me that my High Up's engines sweet spot is 2000 rpm, not 1600 and most importantly, 5th gear should only ever be engaged when doing 50mph.

The first 3 days was me following the Think Blue trainer like a gamer would track the gun sight on COD. The Red Mist was not happy. 5th gear in a 30 zone? So the last two days, I've ignored the think blue trainer and drove to the conditions the car was in. Yes, I've lost an average of 4/5 mpg as a result, but the car is livelier, more eager and more fun to drive.

I believe that the Think Blue's assumptions as to what the engine can do are as a result of what a computer simulation has determined and not what a test driver at VW has found to be the case.

After all, what's the point of getting as high a MPG figure as you can get now, only to find in 6 months you've knackered the gearbox doing so?

But what are other owners thoughts in the matter?

·
Registered
8 Posts
A gear box is covered under warranty! I wouldn't worry about it. Very little chance of VW refunding you the money for the wasted fuel just because you tried to save the box.