Up Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
430 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a BMT UP driver I'm curious to know how better if at all the MPG is over a standard UP? My suspicions is that from reading the topics on MPG that the difference is minimum if at all. I know MPG is very variable according to journeys and driver style but in general are the Blue Motions ahead or am I right in suspecting there is virtually no difference? In my case I've so far travelled 2200 miles doing a 35 mile return commute on B roads with a few junctions, average MPG is 52. I'm a steady driver and change gear just after the indicator tells me.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Hi I have a non bmt 75ps high up and drive a very similar commute to you, and I am a steady driver as well and 52 is the same return as me I have a few miles of motorway in the journey and I think thats where I lose some mpg. If I sat at 50-55 I think I would get much better results but I am pleased with 52 after getting around 22 in my last car.

·
Registered
525 Posts
I was getting 59 on mixed journeys including motorway at 70 mph, but that was back in the summer and I haven't checked lately. Honest John has some stats on real mpg where it looks like the non BMT models get a slightly better percentage of the official mpg, but the BMT are still better.
http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/realmpg/volkswagen/up!-2012

·
Registered
811 Posts
I also have a 75bhp High Up and have a 70 mile return commute on a mixture of motorway and rural roads. If I stick to the speed limits M&M says I do about 54mpg. If I'm in a hurry it's more like 46mpg. Either way I think that is pretty good.

To be honest I don't think my commute would work for the BMT, it really needs town driving to get the best from the start/stop.

·
Registered
235 Posts
Agree totally with Allybasher - I'm getting 52mpg from by High up! BMT on my 84 mile daily commute and don't think BMT is any advantage for this type of use.