Up Owners Club banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, we purchased a Higher UP in September 2012. I have to say I loved it. I loved being able to choose the colour of the dashboard and the seats. It was perfect! That is, it was perfect, until the bad weather in January. A few slips and slides in the slush and wham the clutch burnt out!!! We took it back to the VW service centre and they told us it was "driver style".My hubbie and I have been driving cars for at least 30 years and never had a clutch burn out. A week after getting the car back, one morning the car wouldn't start and we had to get VW Assist out. Apparently it was an internal fault on the starter motor and a defective flywheel.I should add here, that the clutch was not replaced under warranty, but the starter motor and flywheel repairs were.

It has really taken the shine off owning a brand new car! I wondered if anyone else had experienced this kind of problem or if ours is just a P UP!!

·
Registered
587 Posts
Not had any issues on mine but the clutch being so light is very easy to slip had a burning smell from mine on a couple of occasions. The starter motor and flywheel is a new one to me but may be connected to the clutch issues??? I would still say though that I think the clutch may well have been faulty to burn it out so quickly?

·
Registered
604 Posts
jezyg said:
I think the clutch may well have been faulty to burn it out so quickly?
I would agree with that, for a clutch to burn out in less than a year I would say fault not driver

I too have had that burning smell crawling up a steep hill, only happened twice but no further problems

·
Registered
851 Posts
I had the burning smell a couple of times during the first couple of weeks' of ownership but not since. I've had the car for 6 months now.

·
Registered
78 Posts