Up Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son is coming over this afternoon, with his new toy

Between us we pretty much have most of the kit needed (I think) to get it looking reasonable. Apparently the only thing we don't have is clay.

Parts of the car are better than others. The plastic bits are all very dull and not as red as the rest of the car. And the paint is dull in places too!

What can he do to improve it? If we can sort it out, I've got him some Supagard and we have a few different types of Auto Glym Wax. He also has a great big bag of Auto Glym products.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks x

·
Super Moderator
3,147 Posts
I'm no expert but basically

wash
cleanse
clay
polish
wax

in that order

·
Super Moderator
3,147 Posts
ps nice toy

·
Registered
1,862 Posts
I remember the url, but there is a site called something like detailing world... that will probably have all the info/advice you would need!

·
Registered
265 Posts
Privatedoc said:
I'm no expert but basicallywash
cleanse
clay
polish
wax
in that order
I'd agree with that. Cleanse step would be tar/fall out removal. AG do a tar removal that is OK (there are much better available online, Tardis for example). Fall out removers are only available online (Iron X, Purple Rain etc). Bear in mind that you can skip the cleanse and go straight to the clay (claying will remove tar and fallout), but its better for the paint if you cleanse chemically rather than physically.

If you don't have any clay, the kit available from Halfords is pretty good -http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_253057_langId_-1_categoryId_255233 (but again cheaper and arguably better options are available online)