Up Owners Club banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got my new Up! exactly 1 month ago. And I hate driving it. I have taken it to my local VW dealer twice now and feel really fobbed off. The engine sounds horrendous - admittedly it is intermittent. I have been given a loan car which was quieter. I was told on both occasions that 'that's just the way an Up! engine sounds'. To me this is not a good reason - it's an excuse. My clutch sounds bad at times too and this does seem to be once I have been driving around for a minimum of 30 minutes - the engine is hot? Funnily enough, when the mechanic at the garage took it for a 5 minute cruise around the block at 20mph it didn't happen.
I had a VW Fox previously, which I paid considerably less for and purred like a kitten. The mechanic informed me that the Fox too had a 3 cylinder engine. So it can't be that.
I am no expert, nor mechanically minded (to my detriment) but I do feel unhappy with the Up! and have consequently contacted VW HQ and am awaiting a response. Their promised 3 days has passed and I will now be calling them to find out what my options are. I am tempted to return the car and hand back the keys, while asking for my old Fox back. Shame as my family and I have been loyal VW customers for many years. Will keep you posted on respnse from HQ.
Rant over!

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
O eck that's a shame you must of got the runt of the batch! It's always the case when there is a problem and you take it to a garage (any garage) they can't find the problem, I had a problem with my old golf mk5 and I took it various places and it was a grating noise and every garage said "we plugged it in and no fault code appeared" so I'd say back it won't appear its a grating noise as in bits of metal rubbing together so then they would test drive it and hey ho tey wouldn't find it! But they would take my £80 for checking it

·
Registered
467 Posts