Up Owners Club banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone

Just thinking about what I could do with the up, and thought about the exhaust.

I'd like a different note from the engine, something different but not full on Corsa at McDonald's (ugly and loud).

A friend of mine got an exhaust around November time, costing about £300. It sounds really nice and all, but I don't think I could bring myself to spend so much money on a car that might not be worth it in a few years.

So I was looking at an image of the exhaust and noticed the great big resonator right in the middle.

I was just wondering if I were to remove the resonator, and put in a different diameter pipe, or even a pipe the exact same size as the rest of the exhaust, is there a predictable noise that the exhaust may make or is it totally up in the air how it might sound?

I'm totally new to modifying exhausts but hearing resonator deletes on things like Golf GTIs has done them so much good, I wonder if it could do the same to the up.

Photo attached is, to the best of my knowledge, the VW up! naturally aspirated exhaust with the giant dorito in the middle.

Thanks!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hi there, I would love to know whats the outcome too. I have the same exhaust on my Up. I was thinking of the catback method too. Saw a couple of videos on youtube (
) this link should give you an example of what I think it would sound like, or what I hope to achieve. Nonetheless , let me know what works for you. I would like to do this soon too

·
Registered
383 Posts
Hi Custard,
I can't speak to exhausts specifically (though great to see what is most likely on the underside of mine in real life, not just in two half-drawings), but I can comment a bit on sound generated by air moving through pipes...