• I am an older driver

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
957 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have noticed a few UP! owners having problems with their gearboxes.

Are all of these faults or is it the way they are used ?
There are quite a few owners buying the UP! as their first car and a few oldies like myself at the other end of motoring buying a small car as the family have flown the nest or whatever.

Are a lot of the temperamental gearboxes driven ( in the main ) by the younger drivers ?

A lot of the older drivers defending the gearbox may have got used to stiff and baulking changes over the years with many different cars and found their own ways of getting the best out of the boxes.

What you will accept is all relative and if you have had temperamental boxes over the years occasional crunching may be acceptable. If you are a new driver your perception of what an acceptable gearbox is may be different. There will of course be a few faulty boxes out there as well.

I thought I would run a poll and see if there is a trend on this.
Fill in as many boxes as you want

·
Registered
957 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Not much data to analyse yet ............ ah well it seemed a good idea at the time .I'll get my coat then !

·
Registered
325 Posts
Unfortunately I can't choose "I can accommodate it" AND "I am an older driver" - there's only one choice. That's how it is though. The gearbox is fine apart from a bit of snatching on changing between certain gears. If I'm really smooth I can avoid the snatching, though. I also have a bit of the 'getting into 1st/reverse' difficulty but lifting and pressing the clutch pedal again solves it.

My main moan is about the clicking clutch pedal but it's in today to hopefully diagnose that.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Really like the gearbox, clutch pedal is light and gearshift throw is short and goes into gear easily.
Sometimes I have problems with first, but it rare and does not bother me.