Up Owners Club banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thus far fuel economy for my Take Up has been (oldest first) 54mpg, 57 mpg, and 60mpg, calculated using the trip counter and the petrol pump reading. Not bad! Mind you, I do stick to 60mph now, since I commute 30 miles each way, and petrol is not cheap. I am also a docile driver, and tend to anticipate in order to minimise braking/stopping. I hope to see better figures as the engine wears in, and summer will help too. Anyone else got real world figures?

For comparison I had a Ford Ka and got 40mpg in winter and 45 mpg in summer, official 42mpg, and a Nissan Micra (old style) and got 45mpg, official 45mpg.

As an aside, is the petrol gauge estimated using data from the fuel pump? It does not vary when going up and down hill, suggesting that it is not mechanical. I would not be surprised if it was electronic as the car probably has the same electronics for all models.

·
Premium Member
1,179 Posts
fuel gauge varying when going up and down hill? my polo doesnt do that and its 12 years old...

·
Registered
143 Posts
The gauge will have a sensor in the tank to check the level as it does not know how much fuel the car has been filled up with it you measure the level at the fuel pump. The pump will tell you how much is being used, although the more efficient the car the less fuel it uses and the more significant measurement errors might be in mpg calculations.

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Roadrunner said:
The gauge will have a sensor in the tank to check the level as it does not know how much fuel the car has been filled up with it you measure the level at the fuel pump.
Good point. Then I don't have a clue how it works. It is not that accurate, going by the level before I filled, and the amount I put in.