Up Owners Club banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So then, my new Up! is going to be my first car... having only just passed my test last week!

Now, I'm a confident yet relaxed driver - never in a rush and always minding my own business whilst being aware of other drivers. However... I am beginning to get a niggling worry in my head about driving my new car and the unknowns of the open road!!

I'll be commuting 40 miles a day to work and have driven the journey a fair few times, and plan to drive it a lot more at quiet times in my Up! before I start actually driving to work. There's no motorways, just a 20mile journey each way on dual carriageways and through small towns into Liverpool.

What would you experienced drivers advise me on the most common mistakes they made in their first few years of driving? Are there any common hidden pitfalls newbies make and what are the most common accidents you see happen or have experienced? Also, do you have any tips or tricks for new drivers to help calm their nerves and get them used to the wacky races of the morning commute?

I'm not exactly looking for horror stories - just wanting to be prepared and be aware of the pressures of learning curve we need to ride in the years prior to our pass ;)

·
Registered
677 Posts
Please please PLEASE dont drive like you've been driving for years, over confident, with one hand on the wheel and "dick music" blaring and no consideration for other drivers!

Just stick to being cool headed and watch the roads.

Best piece of advise my mum told me, treat every driver on the road like their an idiot!

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #3