Up Owners Club banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
having had 2 polo's why have VW changed the place where reverse is ??? waiting for my up and haveing done a test drive feel confused why they had to move it ?? any answers please ??

·
Registered
29 Posts
It's cost cutting and they could not fit the normal VW box in the car. I was disappointed when I saw they had changed something so fundamentally VW

·
Premium Member
1,179 Posts
it did confuse me slightly as a fellow VW driver, i had to think a bit extra when putting it into reverse on my test drive too, but like mark points out those new to VW wont notice the difference and the rest of us will get used to it!

·
Registered
329 Posts
Not sure the gearbox was made just to cut costs (although i am sure they did). As I understand it was also done to save weight.

·
Registered
237 Posts
The potental problem is that is where sixth gear is on our other vw,so if you get heavy handed it could be nasty.

·
Registered
329 Posts
That's a good point. Have 6 gears on my Skoda (effectively a VW gearbox). Going to have to be careful. Is reverse selected by pressing down on the gear stick or pulling up?

·
Registered
76 Posts
R1ch said:
That's a good point. Have 6 gears on my Skoda (effectively a VW gearbox). Going to have to be careful. Is reverse selected by pressing down on the gear stick or pulling up?
Reverse gear is across to the right and back, no pushing down or pulling up, so 6 speed boxes may have trouble getting used to it x

·
Registered
51 Posts
In all fairness in recent months I have had nothing but problems with the gearbox in my golf mk4!! (rivet in the final drive went and put a hole in the casing... 750 quid later my car was back on the road!)
I welcome a new gear box with open arms :p

·
Registered
39 Posts
The reverse gear in the Up is the same as my Aygo. My
parents have a polo which has the reverse gear on the opposite side to the Up and