·
Registered
63 Posts
Why the concern after 3 years ?

The terms and conditions of the Volkswagen warranty are such that :

vehicles are fully protected during manufacture
against through corrosion for 12 years from the date of first
registration.

So no need to worry for another 9 years.

·
Registered
122 Posts
'through corrosion' is an interesting term - I used a Ford Ka with the classic rust around the filler cap.I'm no expert, but would say that would be rejected as 'through corrosion', rather surface rust creeping out from the lip area under the plastic filler cap assembly.
The precise terms and wording used can be a nightmare to interpret.
And VW will doubtless insist on owners paying their service prices when cars have sunk to a modest value in order to preserve the 12 year warranty.
The fact is, if this Up is rusting as stated its bad news whatever the warranty says - especially from VW.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
At less than 3 years old you kinda expect it to not be corroding to a point that it needs attention, and good luck getting them to fix it after its a panel and not a cheap repair, I have read many a story on that 12yr warranty, aint worth the paper its written on. Fact is at less than 3 years old, it should not be happening, and being one of the first in production, it does not bode well. Most people will not see it and the VW garage will not point it out in the ''corrosion'' check.

Edited by: Gotpaintinmyhair

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
The corrosive properties of petrol and diesel is widely reported on the Internet. It is always a good idea to wipe up any spillages on paintwork or around the filler cap to prevent damage. If you are not careful you could be allowing corrosion to occur which of course would not be corrected under the warranty.

·
Super Moderator
1,599 Posts
Beevee said: