Up Owners Club banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was driving on motorway yesterday and noticed a sharp pull to the left from steering, potentially dangerous , I've been driving for many years so kept cool, but a new driver may get confused. Stopped at a lay by and turned off engine, problem returned after 5 minutes. Anyway this morning everything was ok, was reading this forum about this happening after parking with full lock, remembered that yesterday i had done a sharp turn into a parking space and left it like that for an hour or so. Overnight car had been parked with wheel straight and no problems this morning.

So full lock parking can cause a problem with steering, i.e. Taking hands off wheel and car was trying to change lanes by itself. My car is a 2013 supplied in march. Think VW group need to look at thisEdited by: lumsdot

·
Registered
333 Posts
Hi ,, cars do sometimes swerve on roads mostly worn out lanes where you have
congested heavy traffic your steering does slightly pull to the left mostly ,but as you say definitely
Needs sorting out ,it's like opening a can of worms when you are faced with steering problems .have you checked your wheels tyres .worth a look .you just never no ,Regards phill.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
When i stopped at lay by i checked tyres, all ok.
The power steering was trying to center at the 11 oclock position, so a sharp turn to left.
This happened for my 20 mile journey home, so i had to keep steering at 12 oclock position by holding steering wheel firmly. I.e. Nothing to do with road surface.
Steering was fine that morning and i had not hit any potholes, so the only thing that i can think of is me pulling sharply into car park space using a lot of lock.