Up Owners Club banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now I can see why VW have stripped back the basic model to crack the £8k barrier (marketing tool) but does anybody think this variant is good value stripped of all real-world essentials (air-con, central locking, electric windows, split rear seats etc) that are standard on the Move Up?

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
I think it's a fine car. Getting back to basics feels nice and fresh. I almost chose this car, but I'm not very good at buying cars. I kept adding bits for a treat until I ended up with a high up... Lol
The take up certainly has it's place in my heart.

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Ps, I believe it does have central locking, just not the remote. (I'm sure I read it on the forum)

·
Registered
553 Posts
I'm in the same camp as Rednaxela on this one!

I've had a few old beetles with all the luxury items of the day such as .........well..... a radio.....erm........
Windscreen wash powered by the spare tyre and ...........remote filler cap release via the glove box!

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Rednaxela said:
Ps, I believe it does have central locking, just not the remote. (I'm sure I read it on the forum)
Ah yes you're right. Should have said remote central locking. I guess I've become spoiled and putting a key in the door of a car seems alien now! I suppose there are those happy with the basics but I couldn't go back!

·
Registered
38 Posts
On the basis I drive about in a 1971 Triumph Spitfire mk3 with air conditioning provided by an open top, no central locking and definitely no electric windows etc. I buy my cars for the look and the fun of it. If it makes me smile when I drive it then I dont care if it has square wheels. I'm looking forward to having some new toys but could live without them as long as my UP! gets me from A to B

·
294 Posts
Square wheels might be a little bit of a challenge