Up Owners Club banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
655 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So...As an ex motoring journalist I thought I would throw my two pence worth of opinion into the bowl, having just had a nice extended test drive today in a High up! 75bhp model. Hopefully this answers some unresolved questions...so here goes!

Firstly it doesn't appear that you can lower the windows on the up! as with other VW group products. This may just be a programming function so time will tell. The resounding impressions were good, My opinion was already high from the many journo friends who have praised the up! So i wasn't blown away, more highly convinced it was the right choice for my needs.

From the outset of sitting in the car and playing with the sat nav and major controls, it successfully strikes the balance of feeling like a VW and not that of a lesser brand. Anyone that says it is cheap is frankly talking nonsense and has no concept of just how tight margins are on designing and producing cars!

The engine is unbelievably refined for something this small, with very light clutch pedal travel and a typically slick VW box. The steering is agile, light at town speeds and has enough feel to inspire confidence. The engine is nippy, aided by the incredibly light body shell that really makes it feel nimble. It is no pocket rocket, but it is certainly fresh enough to have some fun with, alongside inspiring brakes.

Parking is a doddle, unless you really are useless! The visibility is excellent with nicely shaped seats with ample travel. Although adjustment is good, the one continued criticism is that of height only adjustment on the steering column.

The dealership had several colours, with Black looking very smart...reassuring me of the choice alongside the sport pack. Mine should be here within the month so expect lots of pics...any questions just fire away!

Mark

Edited by: MarkyMark

·
Registered
677 Posts
Nice wee review!