Up Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
Another newbie here! Ordered a 5 door candy white move up! Last weekend and will be picking up on Friday. I was just wondering if any of you could give me an idea of its performance in the snow please?

Was stuck in my stupid 1 series for 3 hours last night because of the snow, can't wait to get rid of it!!!

Thanks!

·
Registered
705 Posts
It's front-wheel drive so will be better than a rear-wheel drive car. But four-wheel (or more) drive is better still. But it doesn't matter how many wheels are being driven if the driver doesn't know how to drive in the snow.All controls need to be used slowly and gently. Sudden lurches will mean a loss of traction and thus control.

Nick

·
Registered
34 Posts
I've had a nerve racking morning, deciding whether to pick mine up!, but did got for it in the end, he's been good as gold, don't worry!

·
Super Moderator
3,147 Posts
Echo that....Ours are unstoppable in snow with winter tyres on.

and we live deep down in the countryside with loads of the white stuff!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thank you! The guy at VW was making fun of the BMW and said I'll find the up! To be far better in the snow

Can't wait to get it now, typical that we had to get this snowfall before getting my new car lol

·
Registered
811 Posts
Last winter I had a BMW 320D which was undrivable in the snow. In contrast, the Up is unstoppable. I have just driven up a hill which had kids sledging down it with no drama

·
Registered
45 Posts
Rubbish in a word. Fancy having traction control with no button to switch it off. But a set of winter tyres will change all of that.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Hate to contradict, but I've had our Mii all through the winter, running on standard tyres and handling has been very good. Much better than previous Leon which slid everywhere on fat tyres.

·
Registered
265 Posts
markup said: