Up Owners Club banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to find a useable grommet in the firewall to run a power cable through for an amplifier. I would rather not drill through the firewall as I'm not very experienced with this, but I still would like to do it myself rather than go to a pro.

·
Super Moderator
1,495 Posts
You need to remove the passenger side black trim underneath the windscreen, which hides the wiper mech and strut top access. You note from the wire routing from the live side of the battery that the loom runs into this area, and from then into the cabin.

·
Super Moderator
1,495 Posts
Further research shows a usable grommet just next to the fresh air intake for the air-con/heater blower.

Open the bonnet, remove the scuttle trim on the passenger side.

To the right of the air intake is a domed area, which will be body coloured (Candy White in my case), if you prod it, you'll find it's a rubber grommet...

...which you find enters into the cabin behind the dash. If you look up from the passenger footwell to behind the dash, the grommet is behind the sound insulation, pretty much halfway between the two securing 'buttons', where I'm shining the torch.

There's no need to remove anything here, if you feed your power wire in from the engine bay, you'll be able to get your fingers behind the insulation and find the end of the wire no problem.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
that's brilliant thanks very much!
I tried to remove the scuttle trim earlier today, only had a few minutes to fiddle around. I couldn't work out how to remove it! Are there any clips/catches underneath?

·
Super Moderator
1,495 Posts