Up Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I have just found out today my new Up has a Non Sync Gearbox

I do not understand what this is but my Dad says he drove Crash Box gearboxes 25+ years ago and didn't think cars still used them

VW say my car is fine and I must depress clutch wait 2 seconds then. Choose gear!!!!

I have been driving 17+ years and never experienced this before!

The curtsey car I have is a basic Up and mine is a Top of the range Up
But the basic I have now has a sync mesh gearbox

The mechanic said it wasn't the model but where it was made that determines the gearbox!!!

Sorry I do t understand how a more expensive car can have a cheap dangerous gearbox and a cheaper model can have a good gearbox

Has anyone else experienced this

VW are refusing to replace the cheap dangerous gearbox as it will cost them money!!!!!!!

·
Registered
75 Posts
What? I think it's kinda imposible your Up! has a non-sync gearbox, nowadays those are only for heavy transport vehicles, as far as I know!!

Also, I've never heard that the gearbox was different between equipment ranges.

They're lying to you I think. Your gearbox either needs calibration or replacement. Fight for it!Edited by: Hambert

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for this
The information was provided in an e-mail from VW head office yo the local garage

When I explained to my dad n bro (exREME) they couldn't believe it

I have had the car back 6+ times since purchasing and this is the 1st time igave a solid explanation as I'm always fobbed off for being a "dumb Blonde"

I am very angry at VW Edited by: Clairea_1603

·
Registered
957 Posts
That can't be right modern cars do have synchromesh, I could accept the UP may possibly have no synchro on first and reverse as these gears are mostly selected at standstill !

You should ask someone else, another VW garage or contact VW surely this cannot be true

Let us know how you get on.

·